About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist

About Sigma Xi » News » 2008 Sigma Xi NAS Members

May 16, 2008

Seventeen Sigma Xi Members Elected to National Academy of Sciences

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, NC - Seventeen of the 72 new members and 18 foreign associates elected this spring to the National Academy of Sciences are Sigma Xi members. They were elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Newly elected members and their affiliations at the time of election are:

Thomas D. Albright (SX 1982), professor and director, vision center laboratory, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, San Diego.

Richard B. Alley (SX 1983), Evan Pugh Professor of Geosciences, department of geosciences and Earth and Environmental Systems Institute, Pennsylvania State University, University Park.

Edward A. Boyle (SX 1976), professor of ocean geochemistry, department of earth, atmospheric, and planetary sciences, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge.

Stephen L. Buchwald (SX 1977), Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry, department of chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge.

Emily A. Carter (SX 1984), Arthur W. Marks '19 Professor, department of mechanical and aerospace engineering, Princeton University, Princeton, N.J.

Michael E. Greenberg (SX 1977), professor, departments of neurology and neurobiology, Harvard Medical School, and director, division of neuroscience, Children's Hospital, Boston.

David M. Hillis (SX 1987), director, center for computational biology and bioinformatics, and Roark Centennial Professor, University of Texas, Austin.

Evelyn L. Hu (SX 1976), professor, electrical and computer engineering department, University of California, Santa Barbara.

Frank T. Leighton (SX 1978), professor of applied mathematics, department of mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge.

Thomas M. Liggett (SX 1965), professor, department of mathematics, University of California, Los Angeles.

Claire E. Max (SX 1972), professor, astronomer and director, center for adaptive optics, University of California, Santa Cruz.

Paul E. Olsen (SX 1978), Arthur D. Storke Memorial Professor, department of earth and environmental sciences, Columbia University, Palisades, N.Y.

Johanna Schmitt (SX 1982), Stephen T. Olney Professor of Natural History, department of ecology and evolutionary biology, Brown University, Providence, R.I.

George Smoot (SX 1966), professor and research scientist, department of physics and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley.

Jack L. Wisdom (SX 1981), professor of planetary sciences, department of earth, atmospheric, and planetary sciences, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge

Newly elected NAS foreign associates, their affiliations at the time of election and their country of citizenship included Sigma Xi members:

Rosemary B. Grant (SX 1998), research scholar, department of ecology and evolutionary biology, Princeton University, Princeton, N.J. (United Kingdom).

Luis R. Rodriguez (SX 1976), professor of astronomy, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Michoacan (Mexico).

Founded in 1886, Sigma Xi is the international honor society of research scientists and engineers, with more than 500 chapters at colleges and universities, government laboratories and industry research centers. Membership is by invitation, in recognition of research potential or achievement. Over the years, more than 200 Sigma Xi members have received the Nobel Prize. In addition to publishing American Scientist, the non-profit Society awards hundreds of grants annually to student researchers and sponsors a variety of programs that support science and engineering.


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.