About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist

About Sigma Xi » News » Crosby Elected President

November 16, 2009

Michael Crosby Elected Sigma Xi President

Michael P. Crosby RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, NC Michael P. Crosby was elected the 74th president of Sigma Xi at the Society's 2009 Annual Meeting, held in The Woodlands, Texas, November 12-15. He will begin his three-year service in FY 2011 as president-elect.

He is the interim vice chancellor for research and economic development at the University of Hawaii at Hilo and is currently on leave from his position as executive director for the National Science Board.

Crosby has over 30 years of research, teaching, science management and leadership experience. During much of the past 20 years, he has played an active role in leading national and international multi-disciplinary research programs, as well as developing national policy and administrative aspects for our country's science programs.

He has held a number of positions with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), including senior advisor for international science policy. He also served as executive director for the NOAA Science Advisory Board, national research coordinator for ocean and coastal resource management and chief scientist for sanctuaries and reserves.

Prior to joining NOAA, he held numerous faculty positions with the Baruch Institute for Marine Biology and Coastal Research at the University of South Carolina, the Department of Marine Science at Coastal Carolina University, the Graduate Program at the University of Charleston, and Salisbury State University. He has also had previous positions with the National Marine Fisheries Service, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and the National Cancer Institute.

Crosby obtained an M.S. in biology from Old Dominion University and a Ph.D. in marine-estuarine-environmental sciences at the University of Maryland. He is a member of Sigma Xi, National Shellfisheries Association, Estuarine Research Federation and is a fellow of the Royal Linnean Society of London. He is also on the board of governors for the U.S.-Israeli Binational Science Foundation and the board of directors for the Pacific Congress on Marine Science and Technology.

Michael P. Crosby Frank Gilmore Elected Treasurer
Also at the 2009 Sigma Xi Annual Meeting, Frank Gilmore was elected Society treasurer. He is chancellor and the 10th campus CEO of Montana Tech, an institution started 100 years ago as the Montana School of Mines.

Prior to coming to Montana Tech, he was the executive vice president and vice president for academic affairs at West Virginia University Institute of Technology. For 26 years he was a professor, chair and research professor in the Department of Medicinal Chemistry at the University of Mississippi.

A native of Mississippi, Gilmore earned a B.S. in chemistry at Virginia Military Institute and a Ph.D. in organic chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. After service in the Army, he spent a postdoctoral year with DeLos DeTar at the Institute of Molecular Biophysics at Florida State University.

He also attended law classes at the University of Missouri at Kansas City while working for the Midwest Research Institute and later attended the Institute of Educational Management at Harvard University. As a graduate student at MIT, Gilmore was elected to full membership in Sigma Xi in 1960.

He is a charter member of the University of Mississippi Chapter of Sigma Xi and served as chapter president on two occasions. He has served Sigma Xi as a Regional Director and a Director at Large and as a member of the Executive Committee, Finance Committee and Awards Committee and Strategic Planning Committee (Chair). He is a lifetime member of Sigma Xi and currently a member of the Montana Tech of The University of Montana Chapter.

Society Directors Elected
Chapter delegates also elected members to the Society's Board of Directors. The following directors of geographic regions and constituency groups will serve three years beginning July 1, 2010.

Area Groups, Industries, State & Federal Laboratories: Kelly Olsen Sullivan, Tri-Cities, Washington

Comprehensive Colleges & Universities: Regina McClinton, Grand Valley State University

North Central Region: Lynn Elfner, Ohio State University

Southwest Region: Carter Tiernan, University of Texas at Arlington

The following associate directors will also serve three years beginning July 1, 2010.

Baccalaureate Colleges: Joanne Tillotson, SUNY at Purchase

Canadian/International: Paul Kettler, Nordic Chapter

Comprehensive Colleges & Universities: Thomas Sasek, University of Louisiana at Monroe (Election to fill vacancy; term begins immediately and ends June 30, 2011)

Mid-Atlantic Region: Geraldine W. Twitty, Howard University

Northeast Region: Pamela K. Kerrigan, College of Mount Saint Vincent

About Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society
Founded in 1886, Sigma Xi is the international honor society of research scientists and engineers, with more than 500 chapters at colleges and universities, government laboratories and industry research centers. Membership is by invitation, in recognition of research potential or achievement. Over the years, more than 200 Sigma Xi members have received the Nobel Prize. In addition to publishing American Scientist, the non-profit Society awards hundreds of grants annually to student researchers and sponsors a variety of programs that support science and engineering.


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.