About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist

About Sigma Xi » News » Sigma Xi Members Win 2010 National Medals

October 18, 2010

Six Sigma Xi Members Win National Medals of Science and Technology

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, NC - Six Sigma Xi members have been selected to receive the nation's highest honor for scientists, inventors and engineers.

President Obama named 10 eminent researchers as recipients of the 2010 National Medal of Science and three individuals and one team as recipients of the 2010 National Medal of Technology and Innovation. They will receive their awards at a White House ceremony later this year. The program is supported by the National Science and Techniology Medals Foundation.

The six Sigma Xi members include:

Marye Anne Fox (SX 1998), chancellor of the University of California at San Diego and a professor of chemistry. She is also a past-president of Sigma Xi.

Susan L. Lindquist (SX 2007), a professor of biology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a member of MIT's Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research. She received Sigma Xi's 2006 William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement.

Mortimer Mishkin (SX 1953), a senior investigator of neuroscience at the National Institutes of Health.

Warren M. Washington (SX 1997), a senior scientist at the National Center for Atmospheric Research's Climate and Global Dynamics Division.

Harry W. Coover (SX 1943), of the Eastman Chemical Company in Tennessee.

Marcian E. Hoff, Jr. (SX 1958), a member of an Intel Corporation team.

The National Medal of Science was created by statute in 1959 and is administered for the White House by the National Science Foundation. Awarded annually, it recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to science and engineering.

Nominees are selected by a committee of presidential appointees based on their extraordinary knowledge in, and contributions to, the biological, behavioral/social, and physical sciences, as well as chemistry, engineering, computing and mathematics.

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation is an outgrowth of a 1980 statute and is administered for the White House by the U.S. Department of Commerceís U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

The award recognizes those who have made lasting contributions to Americaís competitiveness and quality of life and have helped strengthen the nationís technological workforce. Nominees are selected by a distinguished independent committee representing both the private and public sectors.

About Sigma Xi
Founded in 1886, Sigma Xi is the international honor society of research scientists and engineers, with more than 500 chapters at colleges and universities, government laboratories and industry research centers. Membership is by invitation, in recognition of research potential or achievement. Over the years, more than 200 Sigma Xi members have received the Nobel Prize. In addition to publishing American Scientist, the non-profit Society awards hundreds of grants annually to student researchers and sponsors a variety of programs that support science and engineering.


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.