About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist

About Sigma Xi » News » 2011 Award Winners Announced

January 28, 2011

2011 Sigma Xi Awards Honor Leading Scientists

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, NC - Engineer-physicist Supriyo Datta at Purdue University will receive Sigma Xi's 2011 William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement, the Society's highest honor.

Datta has been called "one of the most original thinkers in the field of nanoscale electronics."

The Procter Prize and the society's other top annual awards will be presented at the Sigma Xi Annual Meeting and International Research Conference next November in Raleigh, N.C.

Casimer DeCusatis, Distinguished Engineer for IBM in Poughkeepsie, New York, will receive the 2011 Walston Chubb Award for Innovation.

And cognitive scientist Teenie Matlock at the University of California, Merced, will be honored with Sigma Xi's 2011 Young Investigator Award.

Proctor Prize: Supriyo Datta

Supriyo Datta is the Thomas Duncan Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Purdue University. He is known for developing an original conceptual framework that has had enormous impact on condensed matter science and electronic device technology.

His books, based on his own groundbreaking research, have become standard references. His unique approach has had a significant impact on teaching and curriculum development.

The Procter Prize has been presented annually since 1950 to an outstanding scientist or engineer who is known for effective communication of complex ideas. Past recipients include Herbert Simon, Benoit Mandelbrot, Margaret Mead, Jane Goodall, Michael DeBakey and Stephen Jay Gould. Download a high-resolution photo

Chubb Award: Casimer DeCusatis

Casimer DeCusatis currently serves at IBM as an architect for network and I/O solutions, including extended distance connectivity. He is an IBM Master Inventor with over 85 patents and the recipient of numerous industry awards.

He is co-author of more than 100 technical papers, book chapters and encyclopedia articles, and editor of the Handbook of Fiber Optic Data Communication.

The Chubb Award is designed to honor and promote creativity among scientists and engineers. Previous recipients of the Chubb Award include Patrick Usoro, Stan Ovshinsky and Mark Holtzapple. Download a high-resolution photo

Young Investigator: Teenie Matlock

Teenie Matlock is an associate professor at the University of California, Merced. Her main line of research is psycholinguistics. She is best known for her work on spatial language, especially motion verbs, but in her latest research, she is investigating language in the political realm, specifically, how the linguistic details of campaign ads influence attitudes about electability.

The Young Investigator Award includes $5,000 and a certificate of recognition. Sigma Xi members within 10 years of their highest earned degree are eligible for this award. Download a high-resolution photo

The 2010 Sigma Xi Honorary Members will be announced at a later time. Since 1983, noted science advocates, top science journalists and friends of research who have made important contributions to science but are not eligible for Sigma Xi membership, have been elected Honorary Members.

Profiles of award winners will appear in upcoming issues of American Scientist magazine.

About Sigma Xi
Founded in 1886, Sigma Xi is the international honor society of research scientists and engineers, with more than 500 chapters at colleges and universities, government laboratories and industry research centers. Membership is by invitation, in recognition of research potential or achievement. Over the years, more than 200 Sigma Xi members have received the Nobel Prize. In addition to publishing American Scientist, the non-profit Society awards hundreds of grants annually to student researchers and sponsors a variety of programs that support science and engineering.


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.