About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist
   About: Overview

About Sigma Xi » Overview » Prizes & Awards

Each year Sigma Xi awards the William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement to a scientist who has made an outstanding contribution to scientific research and has demonstrated the ability to communicate this research to scientists in other disciplines. The award includes a $5,000 grant to a young colleague of the recipient's choice.

The John P. McGovern Science and Society Award is presented annually by Sigma Xi to a researcher who has made an outstanding contribution to science and society. The award consists of a medal and a $4,000 honorarium. The recipient presents the annual John P. McGovern Science and Society Lecture at Sigma Xi's annual meeting.

Sigma Xi's new Young Investigator Award, which includes a certificate of recognition and $5,000, was presented to its first recipient at the 1998 Annual Meeting.

Sigma Xi chapters also sponsor awards for scientific achievement. For example, the Georgia Institute of Technology Chapter Monie A. Ferst Award is presented to individuals who promote research through teaching and supervising research students.

Sigma Xi annually nominates recipients for the Common Wealth Award for Science and Invention, administered by PNC Bank (formerly the Bank of Delaware). The $30,000 award was one of six established in the will of the late Coca-Cola executive Ralph Hayes.

Some of the nation's top science journalists, as well as others who have made important contributions to science but are not eligible for Sigma Xi membership, have been elected Honorary Members.

For more information on these awards and prizes, send e-mail to


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.