About Sigma Xi Programs Meetings Member Services Chapters Giving Affiliates Resources American Scientist
   Prizes & Awards

Programs » Prizes & Awards » Young Investigator

Young Investigator Award

YIAlogo Since 1998, the annual Young Investigator Award recognizes excellence in research and includes a certificate of recognition and a $5,000 honorarium. The recipient is invited to present a lecture at the Sigma Xi Annual Meeting.

Any active (dues-paying) member of Sigma Xi within 10 years of his or her highest earned degree at the time of nomination is eligible.

The Young Investigator Award will alternate between:

  • physical sciences and engineering, including mathematics
  • life and social sciences

Nominations for the Young Investigator Award in 2014 in the areas of physical sciences, engineering and mathematics must be submitted by October 1, 2013.

Nominations for the Young Investigator Award should include:

  • A current curriculum vita that follows the Sigma Xi Criteria for
    Curricula Vitae
  • A letter of nomination that addresses the following:
    1. A brief (~25 word) introductory statement of the nominee's accomplishments that led to the nomination
    2. What is the research the nominee is conducting that is leading edge and why is it considered leading edge.
    3. Ways in which this nominee's potential and current work have been recognized as especially promising.
    4. Early influence on education through publications, teaching activities, outreach, mentoring, etc.
    5. Ability of the nominee to give an address at the Sigma Xi annual meeting that is dynamic, engaging, and readily understood by scientists across the disciplines.
  • Two additional letters of support of no more than one page each.
Nominations should be submitted to the Committee on Awards at the Society's administrative offices by October 1 annually. Submissions may be made by postal mail or by . The committee meets each November to select the recipient of the Award one year in advance of presenting the award.

Funding for the Young Investigator Award will initially come from the Society's annual budget and, later, from private or industrial sources. Ultimately, a named endowment will be established to support it.

2014 Thomas H. Epps, III, University of Delaware
2013 Michael "Michi" Tobler, Oklahoma State University
2012 Sivaguru Jayaraman, North Dakota State University
2011 Teenie Matlock, University of California, Merced
2010 Kevin R. Gurney, Purdue University
2009 Brandt F. Eichman, Vanderbilt University
2008 Mason Porter, University of Oxford
2007 Lise Abrams, University of Florida
2006 W. Raphael Hix, Oakridge National Laboratory
2005 Thomas Spencer, Texas A&M University
2004 Jason Nieh, Columbia University
2003 Alexandra L. Basolo, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
2002 Paschalis Alexandridis, State University of New York at Buffalo
2001 Henry Rodriguez, National Institute of Standards and Technology
2000 Sherry J. Yennello, Texas A&M University
1999 Laura F. Landweber, Princeton University
1998 John Gillaspy, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Send for more information on these awards and prizes.

Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society
P.O. Box 13975
3106 East NC Highway 54
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709
Phone: 800-243-6534 or 919-549-4691
Fax: 919-549-0090


Back to top | Privacy Policy | Copyright ©2013. All Rights Reserved.